Colgate University Board of Trustees 2016

Trustees are generally elected at the annual meeting in June to three-year terms. The By-laws state that a trustee may be elected to three three-year terms, although some trustees are retained for longer by a vote of the Board. Alumni Trustees may serve only two, three-year terms.

The chairman of the Board and president of the University are ex officio voting members of all standing committees. The president is a paid employee of the University.

A handful of people have run Colgate University for years: the members of the Board Executive Committee, with a policy-setting quorum of only seven people; the members of the Nominating Committee, which selects a slate of Trustees that is unanimously approved; and the executive staff.

By name, they are: Chairman of the Board Daniel B. Hurwitz ’86;; Vice Chairman Gretchen H. Burke ’81 and Vice Chairman Michael J. Herling ’79; Interim President Jill Harsin; Vice President for Finance and Administration Brian Hutzley ; Vice President and Dean of the College Suzy M. Nelson; Provost/Dean of the Faculty Douglas A. Hicks; Vice president and Senior Advisor; Secretary to the Board of Trustees Robert L. Tyburski; Vice President for Institutional Advancement Murray Decock ’80; Vice President and Dean of Admission Gary Ross; Director of the Division of Physical Education, Recreation and Athletics Vicky Chun; Vice President for Communications Rachel Reuben.

All with the exception of Hurwitz, Burke and Herling are employees.

Brion B. Applegate ’76
Dewey J. Awad III ’90
Daniel C. Benton ’80
Gretchen H. Burke ’80
Christine J. Chao ’86
H. Leroy Cody ’71
Celia Colbert P’14
Gus Coldebella ’91
Eric Cole ’93
Nancy C. Crown P’10
Thomas Dempsey, Jr ’72
Kathleen Dill ’89
Margaret Dunne ’13
Stephen J. Errico ’85 
Gregory Fleming ’83
Jeanne A. Follansbee ’78
Christine Gallagher ’83
Andrew Greenfield ’74
Jill Harsin Interim President
Linda J. Havlin ’72
Michael J. Herling ’79
Stephen R. Howe Jr. ’83
Daniel Hurwitz ’86
William A. Johnston ’73 Ronald A. Joyce ’73
Duncan Niederaur ’81
Daniel Rosensweig P’15
Robert Seaberg ’69
Safwan Shabab ’10
Joanne D. Spigner ’76
William Winters ’83
Lee M. Woodruff ’82
Brion B. Applegate ’76

Managing General Partner
Spectrum Equity Investors LP
333 Middlefield Road Ste 200
Menlo Park, CA 94025-5401
brion@spectrumequity.com
brion@theapplegates.org
Hm 415-999-1998
WK 640-321-7190

Selected: 2007, 2010; 2013;
term expires 2016
back to top

Dewey J. Awad II ’90

75 Cart Path Road
Weston, MA 02493-2334
dawad@brooksidefund.com
Hm 781.239.0276
Selected:2009; 2012; 2015;
eligible for re-selection June 2018
back to top

Daniel C. Benton ’80

P.O. Box 818
100 Upper Hook Road
Katonah, New York 10536-0818
P 917.237.1135; 203.967.0669
Selected: 2001, 2004, 2007,
re-selected 2011; 2013 term expires 2016
back to top

Gretchen H. Burke ’81

1 West 64th St., Apt. 11A
New York, NY 10023-6745
gretch.burke@comcast.net
Hm 610.896.3173
Cell 610.416.7147
Selected: 2011; 2014; eligible for re-selection 2017;
named vice chairman June 2015
back to top

Christine J. Chao ’86

64 Willowmere Circle
Riverside, CT 06878-2515
cjchao86@gmail.com
Hm 203.344.1160
Selected: 2011; 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

H. Leroy Cody ’71

138 Brentwood Drive
South Orange, NJ 07079-1141
leroyc@optonline.net
Hm 973.763.9230
WK 212.632.6127
Selected: 2011; 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Celia Colbert P’14

6 Carleen Ct.
Summit, NJ 07901-1216
ccolbert@fc.summit.K12.nj.us
Hm 908.277.0510
Selected: 2014; eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Gus Coldebella ’91

134 Farm St.
Dover, MA 02030-1705
Coldebella@gmail.com
Cell 617.797.7003
Selected: Alumni Trustee; 2011; 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Eric Cole ’93

1 Central Park West, Apt. 45/50C
New York, NY 10023-7703
ericadamcole@gmail.com
Hm 917.441.4163
Wk 212.272.5021
Selected:2004, 2007, 2010; 2013;
re-selected 2014 term expires 2017
back to top

Nancy C. Crown P’10

685 Ardsley Road
Winnetka, IL 60093
Wk 312-236-5293
Hm 847.386.6538
Selected:2008; 2011; 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Tom Dempsey’72

110 Black Rock Road
Hanover, PA 17331-4205
twd2021@gmail.com
Hm 717.632.6510
Selected: 2015; eligible for re-selection 2018
back to top

Kathleen Dill ’89

166 W. 133rd St., Apt 1
New York, NY 10030-3302
wk 212.270.2036
Selected: Alumni Trustee 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Maggie Dunne ’13

14 Edgewood Road
Scarsdale, NY 10583-5943
maggiedunne13@gmail.com
Cell 914.723.3114
Selected: Alumni Trustee 2015;
eligible for re-selection 2018
back to top

Stephen J. Errico ’85

350 Mountain Ave
Ridgewood, NJ 07450-4039
stephenerrico@hotmail.com
Hm 201.445.2204
Cell 201.401.7934
Wk 212.354.5404
Selected:2010; 2013;
eligible for re-selection 2016
back to top

Greg Fleming ’83

24 Clark Road
Bedford, NY 10506-1007
Greg.fleming09@gmail.com
Hm 914-234-4618
Selected: 2009; 2012; 2015;
term expires 2018
back to top

Jeanne Follansbee ’78

21 Standish St., Unit 2
Cambridge, MA 02138-6816
Cell 508.479.1629
Alt 781.400.5579
jeanne.follansbee@gmail.com
Selected: 2011; 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Chris Cronin Gallagher ’83

44 Grammercy Park North, Apt. 13A
New York, NY 02138-6310
ccgallagher13@gmail.com
Hm 212.505.5162
Selected: Alumni Trustee 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Andy Greenfield ’74 P’12

3 Skytop Drive
Norwalk, CT 06855
andygreenfield1@gmail.com
agreenfield@greenfieldgroup.com
Hm 203.855.1282
Cell 203.984.6752
Selected: 2014; eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Jill Harsin

Colgate University
Office of the President
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
jharsin@colgate.edu
Interim President June 2015-May 2016
back to top

Linda J. Havlin ’72

10 East Delaware Pl., Apt. 14B
Chicago, IL 60611-1807
havlinj@gmail.com
Hm 312.337.2602
Selected: 2011; 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Michael J. Herling ’79

91 Five Mile River Rd
Darien, CT 06820-6233
mailto:mherling@fdh.com
mherling@gmail.com
Hm 203-655-3938
Wk 203-325-5015
Selected: Alumni Trustee 2008; 2010
2013; selected vice chairman 2015;
eligible for re-selection 2016
back to top

Steve Howe ’83

30 Clark St.
Pleasantville, NY 10570-2208
Stephen.howe@ey.com
Hm 914-747-4240
Selected: 2008; 2011; 2014;
term expires 2017
back to top

Dan Hurwitz ’86

735 Hardwick Drive
Aurora, OH 44202-7005
dhurwitz@raiderhill.com
Hm 330-562-4884
Selected: 2009; 2012; 2015;
term expires 2018; selected Chairman,
Board of Trustees June 2015
back to top

Bill Johnston ’73

9 Sheffield Road
Winchester, MA 01890-3528
bjohnston@harbourvest.com
Hm 781.729.3103
Selected: 2011; 2014;
eligible for re-election 2017
back to top

Ronald A. Joyce

309 Oakwood Drive
Yarmouth, MN 04096-8142
rjcu73@gmail.com
Hm 207.847.3965
back to top

Duncan Niederauer ’81 H’13

77 Spring Hollow Road
Far Hills, NJ 07431
dln@dicastlevecchio.com
Hm 908.502.5071
Alt 908.204.0724
Selected:2011; 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Daniel Rosensweig P’13 P’17

253 University Drive
Menlo Park, CA 94025-5221
Hm 650.322.1313
Selected: 2014; eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Bob Seaberg ’69

246 Oriole Court
Manhasset, NY 11030-4001
rbseaberg@gmail.com
Cell 516.672.8373
Selected: 2015;
eligible for re-selection 2018
back to top

Safwan Shabab ’10

368 Pforzheimer Mail Center
56 Linnaean St.
Cambridge, MA 02138-1527
sbshabab@gmail.com
Selected: 2014;
eligible for re-selection 2017
back to top

Joanne Spigner ’76

44 Garfield Avenue
Madison, NJ 07940-2752
jspigner@visionfirst.com
Wk 973-660-0544
Selected: Alumni Trustee 2007, 2010
selected to Board 2013 eligible for re-selection 2016
back to top

Bill Winters ’83

81 Addison Road
London, UK W14 8ED
bill@wintersuk.net
Selected:2013; eligible for re-selection 2016
back to top

Lee Woodruff ’82

14 Phillips Lane
Rye, NY 10580-3230
leewoodruff@gmail.com
Hm 914.777.1312
Selected:2010; 2013 eligible for re-selection 2016
back to top